GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ACT, 1935

Faariya Imdad

Government of India Act, 1935

- 1. Historical Background
- 2. Introduction
- 3. Salient Features of Government of India Act,1935:
 - I. Comprehensive written constitution
 - II. Federation
 - III. Unitary constitution
 - IV. Diarchy at the Centre
 - V. Provincial Autonomy
 - VI. Responsible Government
 - VII. Extensive powers given to Governors and Governor-General of India
- VIII. Provinces-separate legal entities
 - IX. Federal Executive
 - X. Discretionary powers of Governors
 - XI. Federal Legislature
- XII. Establishment of Federal court
- XIII. 11 Governor Provinces
- XIV. Creation of New Province of Sindh
- XV. Creation of new Province of Orissa
- XVI. Provincial Legislature
- XVII. Checks on Legislature
- XVIII. Method to join Federation
 - XIX. Jurisdiction of Federation
 - XX. Three Fold Division of Functions:
 - i. Federal

Faariya Imdad Pakistan College of Law

- ii. Provincial
- iii. Concurrent.
- 4. Conclusion.