INDIAN INDEPENDENCE ACT, 1947

Faariya Imdad

Indian Independence Act, 1947

- 1. Introduction
- 2. Consist of
- 3. Salient Features of Indian Independence Act, 1947
 - I. Partition of India
 - II. Creation of two constituent assemblies
 - III. Cessation of British Government
 - IV. Termination of Suzerainty of Crown
 - V. Appointment of Governor-General
 - VI. Sovereignty of Legislature of new Dominions
- VII. Constituent Assembly to frame a new constitution
- VIII. Interim constitution
 - IX. Authority of Governor-General
 - X. Abolishment of office of Secretary of State
 - XI. Division of Indian Armed Forces
- XII. Ineffectiveness of existing instruments.
- 4. Final analysis

Lord Samuel said;

" It is an event unique in history a treaty of peace with our word"